Rivers United and Enyimba share spoils in Port Harcourt

Rivers United and Enyimba International played out an exciting 1-1 draw on Sunday as the Nigeria Professional Football League (NPFL) entered match day five.

United dominated early at the Yakubu Gowon Stadium, Port Harcourt with Elum Sochima coming close on several occasions without hitting the opposition’s underbelly.

Enyimba then took over, dominating possession and carving out chances at will.

They took the lead on the stroke of half time when the referee ruled that Gabriel Olalekan had fouled Chinonso Okonkwo in the United box.

Stanley Dimgba kept his composure and sent Sunday Rotimi the wrong way to send shock waves running down the spines of the home faithful as Enyimba went into the break with the psychological advantage.

United stepped on the accelerator after the restart and duly gained due reward when Daniel Israel headed home a cross on 77 minutes to restore parity.

There was to be no more scoring as both sides settled for a point apiece from a tension-soaked and richly entertaining encounter.

Afterwards, head coaches of both sides, Stanley Eguma (Rivers United) and Paul Aigbogun (Enyimba) as well as United’s goal scorer, Daniel Israel spoke to our official website, www.riversunitedfc.com.ng(audio files have been attached).

United currently sit in 11th place on the NPFL standings with seven points from five matches while Enyimba occupy 14th spot with six points from five matches.

Next up for the Pride of Rivers is a trip to Enugu where they face the ‘Flying Antelopes’ Enugu Rangers at the Nnamdi Azikiwe Stadium, Enugu.

Match Statistics: Rivers United versus Enyimba FC

Rivers United: Sunday Rotimi, Markson Ojobo, Ali Chiwendu, Afolabi Sunday, Festus Austine, Gabriel Olalekan, Samuel Akinbinu, Elum Sochima, Bamba Bakari and Guy Kuemian.

Substitutes: Substitutes: Robert Cole, Zoumana Doumbia, Bello Ikeleji, Gbadebo Sampson, Rowland Koffi, Daniel Israel and Malachi Ohawume.

Enyimba: Fatau Dauda, Olayinka Onaolapo, Benjamin Francis, Farouk Mohammed, Nelson Ogbonnaya, Isiaka Oladuntoye, Andrew Abalogu, Chinonso Okonkwo, Chinedu Udeagha and Stanley Dimgba (Franco Atchou

Substitutes: Friday Achimugwu, Emeka Obioma, Ugochukwu Leonard, Ifeanyi Anaemena and Ernest Governor, Joseph Osadieye, (Dare Ojo 77′).


Leave a Reply